This is the "Science Home" page of the "Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Science  

Last Updated: Aug 9, 2016 URL: http://countryday.libguides.com/science Print Guide RSS Updates

Science Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

INTERLIBRARY LOAN

At times you will find an appropriate article but the database or search engine you are using does not  provides access to the full text article.  Do not give up and do not pay to download material online.  Contact owensa@countryday.net to get full-text content through interlibrary loan.  Include citation details and the source URL in the email request.  Mrs Owens will complete the necessary paperwork.  UC responds very efficiently within the day. 

Thank you to the University of Cincinnati for generously providing us access to high-end academic journals!   Note - we can also borrow books through interlibrary loan - it takes about 5 days.

 

      

    Top Web Sources

    General Science Gov't Resources

    How Stuff Works

    LiveScience
    (Tech Media Network)

    SciDev.net News

    Science Daily
    latest research news

    Ted Talks
    search for individual topics

    The Why? Files
    Science Behind the News
    (Univ of Wisconsin)

    Understanding Science
    (Berkeley)

    National Science Foundation
    Where Discoveries Begin

    NSF National Center for Science & Engineering Statistics

    Science.gov
    Gateway to federal science - links to hundreds of sites developed by the U.S. gov't

    Gov't Resources for Science Images & Video
    Library of Congress

    Science Reference Servcies
    Library of Congress guides by subject

    Fermilab Science Education

    Science Accelerator

     

        

      Suggestions Welcome!

      Access articles in our DATABASES

      The most efficient way to find  journal / magazine content is to search our subscription databases. 

      The Country Day learning community has direct access to all electronic resources while at school.  Off campus you will be prompted for credentials.  Get passwords.

       

      Science in Context (GALE Cengage)

       

      SCIENCE ONLINE (Facts On File)link

         

      SCIENCE REFERENCE CENTER (EbscoHost)

      link

      ACADEMIC SEARCH PREMIER (EBSCOHost)

      Link
      Peer reviewed academic journals.
        

      JSTOR

      link
      Peer reviewed academic journals.

      Other useful databases where you will find
      expert material for science research
      :

      Classroom Video on Demand
      (documentaries)

      Discovery Education
      (videos)

      Point of View Reference Center
      Articles written for this database.

      Student Research Grades 9-12 (Ebsco)
      Magazine and newspaper articles.

      TopicSearch
      (scroll down)

      from the Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County
      (requires library card to access):

      Opposing Viewpoints 

      ProQuest

          

        SEARCH GOOGLE SCHOLAR



        Subject Guide

        Profile Image
        Nat Tracey-Miller

        Ebooks

        GALE VIRTUAL
        REFERENCE LIBRARY
        link
        Select Advanced Search to enter multiple keywords.
        1000+  high level reference resources in ebook format.

        Get Print and Ebooks 
        through PLCHC

        link


        Hathi Trust

        Millions of books
        digitized by university consortium -
        much is available to non-members.
        Great for primary source material.

            

          FEATURED TITLES FROM OUR PRINT COLLECTION...

          Search Our Catalog

           

           

           

           

              
            Description

            Loading  Loading...

            Tip